Shopping in Moscow

A Moscow shopping guide

For numerous Westerners, Russia still carries the burden of Soviet time, when the country was in the grip of recurring shortages.

Of course, it is not the case anymore, and even less in Moscow where we find everything, at any time. All the big international brands have at least one shop in the Russian capital. Furthermore, to go shopping in Moscow is really entertaining.

The GUM

The most known shopping mall is the GUM of Moscow, the luxury shopping temple.

The GUM, or “Store of State “, was built between 1890 and 1893. The building is divided in three parallel arches with galleries.

With the Perestroika, a big variety of western brands took up residence there. At the upper level we find numerous fast foods.

As wants the tradition in Russia, commercial paths were set up where each row is dedicated to a specific article.

The facades of the GUM mix the Russian decorative style with the architecture of the last XIXth beginning XXth. Wide glass roofs were installed over the trading paths with metal frame. In the 1930s, administrations had there even offices and, in 1953, after important renovations, the GUM was opened again. Today, it is one of the biggest shopping mall of Moscow which welcomes approximately 300000 customers daily.

It is a delight to window-shopping along international brand – Levis, Estee Lauder and Christian Dior among others.

Other less well known in France brands are to be discovered such as Kristi, Steilmann and Gallery Bosco di Ciliegi. We also find there the Russian chocolates factory Krasny Oktyobr (Red October), refreshment stands and Russian shops.

The Russian chocolate as the Red October chocolate is very different from American and European chocolates; it is lighter in weight, of darker colour and bitterer.

The visit of the GUM will take you the major part of the day. The GUM includes more than 150 shops and kiosks.

It is important to know the exchange rate Euro / rouble to go shopping serenely, without fear of being ripped off as the storekeepers can take advantage of your exchange rates ignorance to make you pay more or still feign a discount.

The GUM is located in the northeast part of the Red Square. The closest subway is Okhotny Ryad.

Opening from 10 am till 10 pm.

Address: 3 Krasnaya ploshchad.

Web site: http://www.gum.ru/

The TsUM

The TsUM is the second “marvel” of the Moscow traditional trade.

Numerous employees, few customers, and this for a simple reason: the prices are exorbitant. The TsUM (central store) opened its doors in 1857 under the name of “Muir and Mirrielees”, Andrew Muir and Archibald Mirrielees were two Scottish entrepreneurs in search of emerging markets. The store had a resounding success, although linked to the willingness of its rich clientele to spend big sums of money.

Opening: from Monday to Saturday: 10 hours-22 hours. Sunday: 11 hours-22 hours.
Brands: Prada, Armani Collezioni, Donna Karan, Lanvin, Yves Saint Laurent, and others less known: 6267, Temperley, Vera Wang, David Szeta, Brook of the E-mail, Zac Pozen.

Address: 2 Petrovka Street.
Telephone: 7 ( 495 ) 933 73 00
Web site: http://www.tsum.ru

Okhotny Ryad

Beneath Manezhnaya Square, there is a big underground shopping mall, Okhotny Ryad, located near the GUM, between the Red Square and the Kremlin.

The clientele is generally more Moscow than tourist, however the service is excellent.

This shopping mall is a good choice to rest and go shopping after a day of visit of Moscow. Unlike the GUM and the TsUM, this shopping is more affordable and less frequented. The location of the shopping is original, and when you arrive on Manezhnaya Square you can be surprised not perceiving it next to the glass dome … Recently opened in a location witch necessitated to preserve at the same time historical monuments and the nearby underground subway, the construction was delicate. January and February are recommended to take advantage of liquidations.

Opening: from 11 am till 10 pm.
Address: Manezhnaya square.
Web site: http://ox-r.ru

Europeisky

The European Shopping mall of Moscow is a very pleasant place during the weekend, for shopping either to have good time. This shopping mall is gigantic and several hours are needed to make the tour. It is located next to Kievskaya subway and you do not need to go out of the subway to reach it. A real consumption palace, with its eight floors and its enormous paths of shops.

Opening: from Monday to Saturday: 10 hours-22 hours. Sunday: from 11 am till 10 pm.

Address: 2 Kievskogo Vokzala Square

Telephone: (+7) 495 921 34 44

Web site: http://www.europe-tc.ru

Some advice to buy fur

Fur comes back into fashion. When the Moscow winter makes a strong comeback, shops resupply in coats and accessories of any kinds. The big variety of fur articles and the market prices can confuse the beginners. To get the best deal, it is necessary to know how to choose your fur, know the places to make your purchases (the local markets are renowned for the fur), and learn how to maintain your new purchase.

Make sure that skins are well accompanied, flexible and glossy. The sewing must be solid, and hems have to fall straight ahead. The best way to try a coat is to feel it. The fur has to be uniform and guard hairs brilliant and soft. Feel the weight when you try it. The low-end furs can be very heavy and it’s better not to carry superfluous kilos on you. Buy a coat that reach down at least the mid-thighs to protect yourself effectively from the cold.

Izmaelovo Vernisazh

The Izmailovo Vernisazh is a very appropriate place for the purchase of souvenirs for a very good value for money.

This complex is the biggest exhibition park of the world, a graphic arts fair. This place, adored by both Muscovites and tourists, was built ten years ago by Russian architects. Artists and craftsmen from all Russia regions and all parts of the world present their work there. The Russian traditional crafts have their own foundry there.

We find traditional artworks, ceramic and Soviet “antiques” there. It is custom to negotiate the prices, then go ahead!

The exhibition is located next to Partisanskaya station and to Izmailovo tourist complex. Cafés, snack bars offers traditional Russian dishes at affordable prices.

Nearby, we also find the Izmailovo Kremlin, built in the same architectural style as the Izmailovo Tsar Residence.

It’s better to visit the exhibition in the morning when opened at 10 am. At noon, there is more people and fewer promotions and possibility to negotiate.

Opening hours: on Saturday and Sunday from 9 am till 4 pm.

From the city center, it takes about 25 minutes by subway +10 minutes from Partisanskaya station to the exhibition.

Address: 73 Izmailovskoe shausse.

Web site: http://www.moscow-vernisage.com

Bookshops: Dom Knigi and Moskva Knigi

The “Dom Knigi” Book House is the biggest bookshop of Moscow. It is located on Noviy Arbat Street 8. Subway: Arbatskaya.

Moskva Knigi is a very appreciated bookshop situated in the city center, Tverskaya Street 8. Subway: Tverskaya.

Web sites:

http://www.mdk-arbat.ru/

http://www.moscowbooks.ru/

Eliseevsky: to be visited any price!

The “Eliseevsky” shop was opened in 1901 in an opulent building of the XVIIIth century. Since then, it is considered as the best shop.

In the XIXth century, Gregory Eliseev has secretly transformed a luxurious apartment in luxurious and grand store. Eliseev wanted to surprise the Moscow’s elite. Since the opening, the big grocer’s shop – conceived on several floors as a gastronomy palace, with its columns and crystal candlesticks – was a resounding success and crowds of Muscovites rush there. You find any sorts of breads, desserts, home-made chocolates, and ready-made dishes as the boyarsky salad, the slightly smoked salmon, the marinated mushrooms, the Moscow borscht, etc. All the foreign products have a place on the shelves: olive oil, oysters, chocolate truffles…

It is interesting to place oneself back in the context of the period. The department dedicated to tea and to coffee enthused Russians who discover drinks from all over the world.

A bakery, wine cellars and a famous fruits and vegetables section which includes a wide variety of exotic fruits and maintain the greed, the curiosity, even the amazement of the population days after days, years after years.

The Muscovites had ever seen nothing similar in term of elegance, luxury, variety and novelty of the proposed products. For every one, the place which will become Gastrom 1 after the 1917 revolution, represents a big laboratory in the discovery of new dishes, tastes and other oddities and magnificence from all over the world: ” the temple of the gluttony ” as the Russian writer Vladimir Gylyarovsky described it.

You will for sure have understood it: this place is a real institution, and even in time of crisis, it is as full as ever. The service is the other key point of Eliseevsky. A crowd of employees, often multilingual, helps the clientele to choose its wine and informs about products.

Eliseevsky knew how to, through times, command everyone’s respect, from the pre-revolutionary bourgeoisie to the Bolsheviks and the Stalinist Soviet citizens, including current nouveau riches. Eliseevsky, although slightly aged, always holds a special place in the heart of the Muscovites; in a way, it embodies the Russian soul, proud and enterprising.

Address: Tverskaya street 14. Subway: Tverskaya and Pushkinskaya
Telephone: 7 ( 495 ) 650-46-43
Web site: http://www.eliseevskiy.ru

Comments

Shopping à Moscou

Un guide du shopping à Moscou

Pour de nombreux occidentaux, la Russie porte encore le fardeau de l’époque soviétique, durant laquelle le pays était en proie à des pénuries récurrentes.

Ce n’est bien sûr plus le cas, encore moins à Moscou où l’on trouve de tout, et à tout moment. Toutes les grandes enseignes internationales possèdent au moins une boutique dans la capitale russe. De plus, faire du shopping à Moscou est vraiment divertissant.

Le GUM

Le centre commercial le plus connu est le GUM de Moscou, le temple du shopping de luxe.

Le GUM, ou “Magasin d’État”, fut construit entre 1890 et 1893. Le bâtiment se divise en trois arcades parallèles avec des galeries.
Avec la Perestroïka, une grande variété de marques occidentales y ont élu domicile. Au niveau supérieur on y trouve de nombreux fast foods.

Comme le veut la tradition en Russie, les allées commerciales furent érigées et chaque rangée était dédiée à un article spécifique.

Les façades du GUM mélangent le style ornemental russe à l’architecture de la fin du XIXème début XXème. De larges verrières furent installées au-dessus des allées commerçantes à l’aide d’armatures en métal. Dans les années 1930, des administrations y avaient même leurs bureaux et, en 1953, après d’importantes rénovations, le GUM fut réouvert. Aujourd’hui, c’est l’un des plus grands centre commercial de Moscou qui accueille quotidiennement près de 300000 clients.

C’est un délice que de faire du lèche-vitrine devant des enseignes internationales – Levis, Estee Lauder et Christian Dior entre autres.

D’autres marques moins connues en France sont à découvrir telles que Kristi, Steilmann’s et Galerie Bosco di Ciliegi. On y trouve également la chocolaterie russe Krasny Oktyobr (Octobre Rouge), des stands de rafraîchissement et des boutiques russes.

Le chocolat russe à l’image du chocolat Octobre Rouge, bien différent des chocolats américains et européens, est plus léger en poids, de couleur plus foncé et plus amer.

La visite du GUM vous prendra la majeure partie de la journée. Le GUM comprend plus de 150 boutiques et kiosques.

Il est important de connaître le taux de change Euro/Rouble pour aller faire ses courses en toute sérénité et sans craindre d’être abusé car les commerçants peuvent profiter de votre ignorance des taux pour faire payer plus cher ou encore simuler un rabais.

Le GUM est situé dans la partie nord-est de la Place Rouge. Le métro le proche est Okhotny Ryad.

Ouverture de 10 heures à 22 heures.

Adresse: 3 Krasnaya ploshchad.

Site Internet: http://www.gum.ru/

Le TsUM

Le TsUM est la deuxième “merveille” du commerce traditionnel moscovite.

De nombreux employés, peu de clients, et cela pour une raison simple: les prix sont exorbitants. Le TsUM (magasin central) a ouvert ses portes en 1857 sous le nom de “Muir & Mirrielees”, Andrew Muir et Archibald Mirrielees étaient deux entrepreneurs écossais en quête de marchés émergeants. Le magasin eu un succès retentissant, quoique lié à la bonne volonté de sa riche clientèle de dépenser de grosses sommes d’argent.

Ouverture : du lundi au samedi: 10h – 22h. Le dimanche : 11h – 22h.

Marques: Prada, Armani Collezioni, Donna Karan, Lanvin, Yves Saint Laurent, et d’autres moins connues : 6267, Temperley, Vera Wang, David Szeta, Ru du Mail, Zac Pozen.

Adresse: 2 rue Petrovka.

Téléphone: +7 (495) 933 73 00

Site Internet: http://www.tsum.ru

Site Internet:  http://www.tsum.ru

Okhotny Ryad

Sous la Place Manezhnaya, il y a un grand centre commercial souterrain, l’Okhotny Ryad, situé à proximité du GUM, entre la Place Rouge et le Kremlin.

La clientèle est généralement plus moscovite que touristique, cependant le service y est excellent.

Ce centre commercial est un bon choix pour se reposer et faire du shopping après une journée à visiter Moscou. A la différence du GUM et du TsUM, il est plus abordable et moins fréquenté. L’emplacement du centre commercial est original, et lorsque l’on arrive sur la Place Manezhnaya on peut être surpris de ne pas l’apercevoir à côté du dôme en verre… Ayant récemment ouvert dans un lieu qui a nécessité de préserver à la fois les monuments historiques et le métro souterrain voisin, la construction a été délicate. Les mois de janvier et février sont à conseiller pour profiter des soldes.

Ouverture: de 11h à 22h.

Adresse: Place Manezhnaya.

Site Internet: http://ox-r.ru

Europeisky

Le Centre Commercial Européen de Moscou est un endroit très agréable en fin de semaine, pour faire du shopping ou passer du bon temps. Ce Centre Commercial est gigantesque et il faut plusieurs heures pour en faire le tour. Il est situé à côté du métro Kievskaya et il n’est pas nécessaire de sortir du métro pour y accéder. Un véritable palais de la consommation, avec ses huit étages et ses énormes allées de boutiques.

Ouverture : du lundi au samedi : 10h – 22h. Le dimanche : de 11h à 22h.

Adresse: 2 Place Kievskogo Vokzala

Téléphone: (+7) 495 921 34 44

Site Internet: http://www.europe-tc.ru

Quelques conseils pour acheter de la fourrure

La fourrure revient à la mode. Lorsque l’hiver moscovite revient en force, les boutiques se réapprovisionnent en manteaux et accessoires en tous genres. La grande variété d’articles en fourrure et les prix du marché peuvent dérouter les novices. Pour réaliser de bonnes affaires, il faut savoir choisir sa fourrure, connaître les lieux où faire ses achats (les marchés locaux sont réputés pour la fourrure), et apprendre à entretenir sa nouvelle acquisition.

Veillez à ce que les peaux soient bien assorties, souples et luisantes. Les coutures doivent être solides et les ourlets doivent tomber droit. Le meilleur moyen d’essayer un manteau est de le ressentir. La bourre (pelage) doit être uniforme et les poils de garde doux et brillants. Soupesez-le lorsque vous l’essayez. Les fourrures d’entrée de gamme peuvent être très lourdes et il est préférable de ne pas avoir à porter des kilos superflus sur soi. Offrez-vous un manteau qui tombe au moins jusqu’à mi-cuisses pour vous protéger efficacement du froid.

Le Vernissage d’Izmaelovo

Le Vernissage d’Izmailovo est un endroit vraiment approprié pour l’achat de souvenirs à un très bon rapport qualité/prix.

Ce complexe est le plus grand parc d’exposition au monde, une foire d’art graphique. Ce lieu, adoré tant des moscovites que des touristes, a été construit il y a dix ans par des architectes russes. Des artistes et artisans de toutes les régions de Russie et du monde y présentent leur travail. L’artisanat traditionnel russe y possède sa propre forge.

On y trouve des objets d’arts traditionnels, des céramiques et des “antiquités” soviétiques. Il est d’usage de négocier les prix, alors ne vous gênez pas!

Le Vernissage est situé à côté de la station Partisanskaya et du complexe touristique Izmailovo. Des cafés, des snacks proposent des plats traditionnels russes à des prix abordables.

A proximité, on trouve également le Kremlin d’Izmailovo, construit dans le même style architectural que la résidence du Tsar à Izmailovo.

Il est préférable de visiter le Vernissage le matin dès l’ouverture à 10h. A midi, il y a plus de monde et moins de promotions et de possibilité de négocier.

Horaires d’ouverture: samedi et dimanche de 9h à 16h.

Du centre ville, il faut compter 25 minutes en métro + 10 minutes de la station Partisanskaya au Vernissage.

Adresse: 73 Izmailovskoe shausse.

Site Internet : http://www.moscow-vernisage.com

Librairies: Dom Knigi and Moskva Knigi

La Maison du Livre, “Dom Knigi”, est la plus grande librairie de Moscou. Elle est située 8 rue Noviy Arbat. Métro: Arbatskaya.

Moskva Knigi est une librairie très appréciée située au centre ville, 8 rue Tverskaya. Métro: Tverskaya.

Sites Internet :

http://www.mdk-arbat.ru/

http://www.moscowbooks.ru/

Eliseevsky: à visiter à tout prix!

La boutique “Eliseevsky” a ouvert en 1901 dans un immeuble cossu du XVIIIème siècle. Depuis lors, elle est considérée comme la meilleure boutique qui soit.

Au XIXème siècle, Gregory Eliseev transforme secrètement un luxueux appartement en un somptueux et grandiose commerce. Eliseev voulait surprendre le tout Moscou. Dès l’ouverture, la grande épicerie – conçue sur plusieurs étages comme un palais de la gastronomie, avec ses colonnes et chandeliers de cristal – connaît un succès retentissant et une foule de moscovites s’y pressent. On y trouve toutes sortes de pains, desserts, chocolats faits maison, et de plats préparés comme la salade boyarsky, le saumon légèrement fumé, les champignons marinés, le bortsch moscovite, etc. Tous les produits étrangers ont aussi leurs places sur les étagères : huile d’olive, huîtres, truffes au chocolat…

Il est intéressant de se replacer dans le contexte de l’époque. Le département dédié au thé et au café a enthousiasmé les russes qui découvrent des boissons venues des quatre coins du monde.

Une boulangerie, des caves à vins et un rayon fruits et légumes réputé, qui comprend une large variété de fruits exotiques et entretient la gourmandise, la curiosité, voire la stupeur de la population jours après jours, années après années.

Les Moscovites n’avaient jamais rien vu de tel en termes d’élégance, de luxe, de variété et de nouveauté des produits proposés. Pour tous, ce lieu qui deviendra Gastrom #1 après la révolution de 1917, représente un grand laboratoire à la découverte de nouveaux mets, goûts et autres bizarreries et splendeurs venues du monde entier : “Le temple de la gloutonnerie” comme le décrivait l’écrivain russe Vladimir Gylyarovsky.

Vous l’aurez compris: ce lieu est une véritable institution, et même en période de crise, il ne désemplit pas. Le service est l’autre point fort d’Eliseevsky. Une foule d’employés, souvent multilingues, aide la clientèle à choisir son vin et la renseigne sur les produits.

L’Eliseevsky a su, à travers les temps, se faire respecter de tous, de la bourgeoisie prérévolutionnaire aux nouveaux riches d’aujourd’hui, en passant par les Bolcheviks et les Soviétiques staliniens. L’Eliseevsky, bien que légèrement vieilli, occupe toujours une place spéciale dans le cœur des moscovites; d’une certaine façon, il incarne l’âme russe, fière et entreprenante.

Adresse: 14 rue Tverskaya. Métro : Tverskaya et Pushkinskaya

Téléphone: +7 (495) 650-46-43

Site Internet: http://www.eliseevskiy.ru

Commentaires