The Central Districts of Moscow

Just like numerous European cities, Moscow is built on a concentric circles model. The Kremlin its cornerstone, then the Boulevards Belt, Boulvarnoye Koltso, surrounded in turn by the Gardens Belt, Sadovoye Koltso. The most desired living districts are situated inside the Gardens Belt: the Patriarchs’ Pond, Tchisti Proudi, Tverskaya and Arbat-Kropotskinskaya. Each district plays a particular role in the history and the life of Moscow.

The Boulevards Belt is the most charming of the city, as it is located in the historical center of Moscow. The Moscow’s boulevards were organized so that traffic lanes follow a magnificent park, provided with paths and benches for the walkers, with ponds and playgrounds for children.

Kropotkinskaya – Arbat

The old Arbat district is the living symbol of the former Moscow. The area located between old Arbat and Prechistenka leads us into a world of small alleys, where every house soaks in the atmosphere of the former Moscow. Arbat Street, the most popular of Moscow, is permanently led by street shows. It is a paved, tree-lined, and enlightened by streetlights, the Moscow Montmartre.

Kropotkinskaya is one of the most beautiful district of Moscow; near the main attractions of the city, but without the noise and the influx constraints. The Christ-the-Saviour cathedral is a copy of the one destroyed by Stalin in 1931. It is a huge monument, the biggest cathedral of the Russian church, the symbol of the orthodoxy, with its 22 000 square meters of painted surface, and its 105 meters in heights. Near the Cathedral, spreads out a district where the charming Art nouveau of the beginning of the XX th century mingle with houses designed by modern architects.

Chistie Prudy

Numerous places in Moscow are perceived in an ambiguous way. One of them is Chistie Prudy. In the middle of the big Chistoprudny Boulevard, spreads out a pond surrounded with old lime trees, sweet chestnut trees, shrubs and manicured lawns. This place is particularly cherished by informal young people, but also by football teams’ fans and supporters. The pond is in a historical district with some modern buildings, which are perfectly integrated into the townscape. The pond and the small neighbouring park are source of energy for the former town of Moscow. A place steeped in history, unique and coloured.

Chistie Prudy is a very attractive district for a foothold. Quiet, clean and very close to the city-center, it is ideally served by transport. It is also one of the oldest and greenest districts of Moscow.

With a very particular history, Chistie Prudy can be proud of its ancient and magnificent buildings which reflect the urban trends of the pre-revolutionary period. This district has always been very densely built, but very few towers were settled there, allowing the preservation of the authentic atmosphere of the ancient city of Moscow.

Today new buildings arise in this district, but the modern architecture of Chistie Prudy is so well thought that it does not alter the historical face of ancient streets, and integrate perfectly into this culture island.

It is also a very pleasant district for a walk. It is an authentic district of Moscow, far from the image of postcards: hectic and busy streets adjoin quiet alleys and patios in the traditional architecture.

Kitai Gorod

Kitai Gorod is doubtless the most interesting district of Moscow, as it is at the same time the cultural center and the clubs district of the city. Most of the buildings mix traditional, Art nouveau and the impressive Soviet architecture. This district presents architectural masterpieces, as the magnificent Nikitniki church of the Holy Trinity, dating from 1630.

Located in the heart of the former Zariadé trading district, Varvaka Street is the oldest of Moscow. Witnesses of bygone days, the two oldest civil buildings of the city are still there: the Romanov Boyars Palace and the former English house.
Chistoprudny Boulevard is the second longest boulevard after Tverskaya. Beautiful buildings of the XVIII and XIX th centuries overhang a charming pond of a park on the Boulevard ring. The Anouchka streetcar, recognizable by its colours, stops in front of the station of the same name. Its journey circled around the pond.

Frunzenskaya

Frunzenskaya is an exclusively residential area, without any industrial buildings. Along Moskva River, the Frunzenskaya quay offers quiet green spaces. Gigantic buildings are surrounded with apple trees and cherry trees which give to this place an unforgettable charm, particularly during spring.

By crossing the Moskva across the pedestrian Andreyevski Bridge, you arrive at the Neskoutchny Garden and at the Gorki Park, crossed by the Moscova. Fruzenskaya is an ideal district for families with children thanks to the profusion of re-creation areas and the closeness of Gorki Park adapted to the roller practice, ice skating and long walks. The park also proposes attractions such as roller coasters and a Ferris wheel witch offers a magnificent panoramic view of Moscow.

Near the city center, Novodevichy convent, listed as a UNESCO World Heritage site, is a very beautiful architectural ensemble founded in 1524. Contrary to other monasteries, it remained almost unchanged since the XVII th century. It is a charming place by a lake. Legend has it that it is on the banks of this lake and in front of Novodièvitchi monastery that Tchaikovsky had the idea of the “Swan Lake” ballet.

The Moscow subway is a real underground palace, and the elegant Frunzenskaya subway station is a brilliant expression of it. It was one of the last to be completely built in the Stalinist style which dominated the Moscow stations architecture since the middle of the 1940s.

Krasnopresnenskaya

This district is in transition phase, mainly with the Moskva-City project development, the future international business center of Moscow, just a few minutes from the city center. The constructions take place on Krasnopresnenskaya bank, on former industrial sites. The whole project is about one square kilometre. The purpose of Moskva-City is to create an area combining business, entertainments, and residential spaces, a first in Russia and in all the Eastern Europe. These 60 hectare’s ambition is to assert itself as one of the biggest business centers in the world and to compete with districts such as Battery Park (New York), Canary Warf ( London) or still The Defense (Paris). However the 2007-2008 crisis slowed down its construction, and two projects of highest skyscrapers of Europe, even of the world, were abandoned.

The transport plan of Moskva-City includes roads, air routes, but also waterways. The district will be connected in particular with Sheremetevo, Vnukovo and Domodedovo airports, and will have a heliport.

Krasnopresnenskaya also include the Moscow zoo, the White House and the American embassy. Nearby you find numerous restaurants, bars, cafés, shops and clubs.

Taganskaya

Streets and alleys names of Tagan Mount remind those of the craft villages. In a potters’ district, there were three churches generously decorated to the great displeasure of armours manufacturers, typographers, and weavers. Magnificent tiles floor furniture that we can also admire in Krutitskoye area was made in this village.

An increasing number of companies are re-locating in this district situated in the eastern area of the city. It is a more and more popular night-destination. The Tagankaya square looks like Las Vegas, full of neon, casinos and clubs.

The famous Kotelnicheskaya Stalinist skyscraper – Which is in ten minutes walking from both Taganskaya and Kitay-Gorod subway stations – stands proudly at the crossing of Moscova and Yauza rivers. Kotelniki, as call it the Muscovites, is the most spectacular of the three residential skyscrapers of Stalinist period. It took twenty years to build it. Its top is 26 floors high and it includes more than 700 apartments. Most of its windows and of its balconies offer the most beautiful views of Moscow: the rivers, the Kremlin and the Christ-Saviour Cathedral. The building includes garages, grocer’s shop, beauty salon and even a post office. The “Illusion”, unique cinema in Moscow where you can see rare world and European classics, is on the ground floor of the building. Famous Russian actors and Galina Ulanova legendary ballerina had their apartments there. Today, it is a popular address with numerous expatriates.

There are several theatres in the district, including two branches of the legendary Taganka theater, the Russian Dramatic Theater, the Vouisotsky center and the Moscow State Puppet Theater.

From May till September, it is possible to make a river trip, a little known and pleasant cruise to visit the capital in 1h30.

Tsvetnoy Boulevard

“Tsvetnoy” means “flower” in Russian and refer to the floral market nearby. This boulevard is a central part of Moscow, where shops and the business center border green spaces. Located between Sretenka Street and Tverskaya Street, this district is ideal to find a cheap accommodation.

The boulevard is known to house the Moscow State Circus, which was the only circus between 1926 and 1971 and which remains the most famous.

Most of the former buildings along Sretenka Street kept their original facades but were completely turned into business centers and residential areas. Petrovsky and Rozhdestvensky Boulevards, with their hundred-year-old trees remarkably well preserved, offers magnificent summer strolls.

Tverskaya-Kremlin

In the XIV th century, it was the road which linked Moscow to Tver. Magnificent luxury hotels and mansions were built there, and the Kremlin is only five minutes walking.

The Kremlin, which overlooks the Moscova left bank, is a real fortified city, a Russian Forbidden City, with its 28 hectares of cathedrals and palace. It is also the Mecca of the Moscow tourism even if it continues to house the power system.

Tverskaya Street is a wide central avenue, full of energy, lined with wide buildings shops, clubs, cafés and diverse restaurants. You cannot be more central! It is the best district to have fun and treat yourself. Tverskya Street is the Muscovite “Champs-Elysées”.

During the national holidays, the traffic on Tverskaya is forbidden and streets turn into a permanent festive place. Pushkin square, the Mecca of meeting, is one of the most majestic places of the city. It is very appreciated by young people who like meeting for rock concerts there, for example. The privileged persons who have windows overlooking the street can take advantage of festivities from their balcony.

The Pouchkinsky cinema, one of the best of Moscow, is also located on the square. On the left of the cinema, in Malaya Dmitrovka Street, you reach the very beautiful Nativity church and the very popular Lenkom theatre.

Zamoskvorechie

Zamoskvorechie is a former district of Muscovite merchant. Zamoskvorechie can be translated in French as “Behind the Moscova River”, witch describes exactly where it is located. Many green spaces – and thus less traffic – wrap this district in a nature and peace thick coat. A very particular atmosphere reigns there, and it is a real pleasure then to walk in the narrow streets and the patios.

Today, it is a ‘trendy’ district of Moscow, and also the head office of numerous Russian banks. We find there very interesting living districts. The area around Zamoskvorechye saw a very dynamic real estate development.

On the right bank, this district possesses beautiful churches and former houses, as Danilovsky monastery, the first fortified monastery of Moscow, situated in a soothing and invigorating place, to breathe far from the center.

Culturally, this district offers not less that one of the biggest museum of the world, the Tretiatov gallery, the “Russian Louvre “, which redraws all the Russian art history and houses the famous Roublev Trinity; and the New Tretiatov gallery, situated between the two banks in a spacious and bright framework.

Kutuzovsky

The Kutuzovsky Avenue is the main artery starting from the city center. It is surrounded with impressive residential condominiums which were the representational housing of numerous politburo members (the communist party executives). Today, the first floors of these buildings houses international fashion boutiques and luxurious retailers.

The Victory Park, located on Poklonnaya Mount, is one of the best sites to admire Moscow. The park honours the memory of million persons killed during the Second World War as well as the survivors. The Triumphal Arch arises on the eastern side of the park, in the middle of Kutuzovsky Avenue. It was built at first in Belorussky railway station in 1834 to commemorate the Russian victory over Napoleon.

The eastern part of the avenue, in Dorogomilovo district, developed between 1938 and 1963 is a high-quality residential area, where the elite live. The western part of Podeby Park is less expensive, with apartments built in the 1950-1980’s, with the exception of the luxurious Edelweiss Tower, built in the 2000’s.

Leningrad Avenue

Leningrad Avenue is one of the main avenues starting northward from Tverskaya Street to Sheremetyevo airport road. Since 2005, this artery is in transition phase: the City of Moscow is funding a 38 million dollar project to turn it into a highway with service roads.

In the 1920’s, the Soviet artists and writers received as a gift private houses and studios in a village adjacent to the avenue. At the end of the 1940’s, impressive Stalinist buildings were built in this street in growing at the time. Apartments were mainly offered to veterans, outstanding scientists, and musicians.

Today, the avenue houses the Anglo-American school, the Petrovsky palace, and borders Pokrovsky hills and Chaïka sport complex.

The neo-Gothic style Petrovski palace stands on the avenue. It was built between 1776 and 1780 in honour of the imperial Russia victory over the Ottoman Empire.

Leninsky Avenue

From this Avenue you reach the “Sparrows Hills” district, with its magnificent panoramic views, and near the Moscow State University and Neskouchny Garden. The University of Moscow has a special place in the intellectual elite heart: a romantic spirit reigns there. This city in the city, created by Mikhail Lomonosov in 1755, was the epicenter of the Russian liberal thought. The university is an educational center of excellence which trains audacious researchers. It is the peak of Sparrows Hills, and offers a fantastic view of Moscow.

Music festivals regularly take place in Neskouchny Garden. The music lovers go to it with family or friends.

Léninsky Perspective also aligns upper-class hotels, cultural and scientific institutes, such as the Science Academy of Russia, and department stores.

The Patriarchs’ Pond

The Patriarchs’ Pond district is ideally located: five subway stations, among which four are reachable within walking distance.

It is also one of the most romantic and mysterious places of the former Moscow. Numerous luxurious renewed apartments of western style are located all around or nearby the pond and a magnificent park. The most privileged have an apartment with a view on the pond. The park is really adapted to the children who come to play, for a walk with your dog or for a jogging as it is strewed with paths which invite to a walk. The Patriarchs’ Pond is thus a haven of peace right in the middle of the built-up area and during winter, it turns into an ice rink.

Comments

Les Quartiers Du Centre De Moscou

A l’image de nombreuses villes européennes, Moscou est bâtie selon un modèle de cercles concentriques. Le Kremlin en est la pierre angulaire, puis la Ceinture de Boulevards, Boulvarnoye Koltso, encerclée à son tour par la Ceinture de Jardins, ou Sadovoye Koltso. Les quartiers résidentiels les plus convoités se situent à l’intérieur de la Ceinture de Jardins : l’Etang des Patriarches, Tchisti Proudi, Tverskaya et Arbat-Kropotskinskaya. Chaque quartier joue un rôle particulier dans l’histoire et la vie de Moscou.

La Ceinture de Boulevards est la plus charmante de la ville, car elle se situe dans le centre historique de Moscou. Les boulevards de Moscou ont été organisés de façon à ce que les voies de circulation longent un magnifique parc, agrémenté de sentiers et de bancs pour les promeneurs, d’étangs et de terrains de jeux pour les enfants

Arbat – Kropotkinskaya

Le quartier du Vieux Arbat est le symbole vivant de l’ancien Moscou. La zone située entre le Vieux Arbat et Prechistenka nous fait pénétrer dans un monde de petites ruelles, où chaque maison baigne dans l’atmosphère du vieux Moscou. La rue Arbat, la plus populaire de Moscou, est en permanence animée par des spectacles de rue. C’est une rue pavée, bordée d’arbres, éclairée par des réverbères, le Montmartre moscovite.

Kropotkinskaya est l’un des plus beaux quartiers de Moscou, à proximité des principales attractions de la ville, mais sans les contraintes liées au bruit et à l’affluence. La cathédrale du Christ-Sauveur est une copie de celle qui fut détruite par Staline en 1931. C’est un monument immense, la plus grande cathédrale de l’église russe, symbole de l’orthodoxie, avec ses 22 000 mètres carrés de surface peinte, et ses 105 mètres de hauteur. Prés de la Cathédrale, s’étale un quartier où le charmant Art Nouveau du début du XXème siècle se mêle aux demeures réalisées par des architectes modernes.

Chistie Prudy

Un grand nombre d’endroits à Moscou sont perçus de manière ambiguë. L’un d’eux est Chistie Prudy. Au milieu du grand boulevard Chistoprudny, s’étend un étang entouré de vieux tilleuls, de châtaigniers, d’arbustes et de pelouses soignées. Cet endroit est particulièrement aimé de la jeunesse informelle, mais aussi des fans et des supporteurs d’équipes de foot. L’étang est dans un quartier historique avec quelques bâtiments modernes qui s’intègrent parfaitement dans le paysage urbain. L’étang et le petit parc adjacent sont une source d’énergie pour la vieille ville de Moscou. Un lieu chargé d’histoire, unique et coloré.

Chistie Prudy est un quartier très attractif pour un pied à terre. Calme, propre et très proche du centre ville, il est idéalement desservi par les transports. C’est aussi l’un des plus vieux et plus verts quartiers de Moscou.
Avec une histoire très particulière, Chistie Prudy peut être fier de ses anciens et magnifiques bâtiments qui reflètent les tendances urbaines de la période prérévolutionnaire. La construction dans ce quartier a toujours été très dense, mais très peu de tours y ont été installées, ce qui a permis de conserver l’atmosphère authentique de la vielle ville de Moscou.

Aujourd’hui de nouveaux bâtiments voient le jour dans ce quartier, mais l’architecture moderne de Chistie Prudy est tellement bien pensée qu’elle n’altère pas le visage historique des vielles rues, et s’intègre parfaitement dans cet îlot de culture.
С’est aussi un quartier très agréable pour se promener. C’est un authentique quartier de Moscou, bien éloigné de l’image d’Épinal: des rues trépidantes et affairées jouxtent de calmes ruelles et des patios à l’architecture traditionnelle.

Kitai Gorod

Kitai Gorod est sans doute le quartier le plus intéressant de Moscou, puisque c’est à la fois le centre culturel et le quartier des clubs de la ville. La plupart des immeubles mêlent le traditionnel, l’Art Nouveau, et l’imposante architecture soviétique. Ce quartier recèle des chefs-d’œuvre architecturaux, comme la magnifique église de la Sainte-Trinité de Nikitniki, qui date de 1630.

Située au cœur de l’ancien quartier commerçant de Zariadé, la rue Varvaka est la plus ancienne de Moscou. S’y trouvent encore, comme témoins d’une époque révolue, les deux plus anciens bâtiments civils de la ville: le Palais des Boyards Romanov et l’ancien Hôtel des Anglais.

Le boulevard Chistoprudny est le second boulevard le plus long après Tverskaya. De beaux immeubles du XVIII et XIXème siècles surplombent un charmant étang d’un parc du Boulevard Ring. Le tramway Anouchka, reconnaissable à ses couleurs, s’arrête devant la station du même nom. Son parcours effectue une boucle autour de l’étang.

Frunzenskaya

Frunzenskaya est une zone exclusivement résidentielle, sans immeubles industriels. Le long de la rivière Moskva ; le quai Frunzenskaya offre de calmes espaces verts. Des immeubles gigantesques sont entourés de pommiers et de cerisiers qui donne à cet endroit un charme inoubliable, particulièrement au printemps.

En traversant la Moskva par le pont piéton Andreyevski, vous arrivez au jardin Neskoutchny et au parc Gorki, traversé par la Moscova. Fruzenskaya est un quartier idéal pour les familles avec enfants grâce à la profusion d’espaces de recréation et la proximité du parc Gorki adapté à la pratique du roller, du patin à glace et aux longues promenades. Le parc propose aussi des attractions telles que des montagnes russes et une grande roue, qui vous offre une magnifique vue panoramique sur Moscou.
Prés du centre ville, le couvent Novodevichy, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’Unesco, est un très bel ensemble architectural fondé en 1524. Contrairement à d’autres monastères, il est resté pratiquement inchangé depuis le XVIIe siècle. C’est un endroit enchanteur au bord d’un lac. La légende veut que ce soit sur les rives de ce lac et devant le monastère de Novodièvitchi que Tchaïkovsky aurait eu l’idée du ballet “Le lac des Cygnes”.

Le métro moscovite est un véritable palais souterrain, et l’élégante station de métro Frunzenskaya en est une brillante expression. Elle fut l’une des dernières à être entièrement construite dans le style stalinien qui dominait l’architecture des stations moscovites depuis le milieu des années 1940.

Krasnopresnenskaya

Ce quartier est en pleine phase de transition, principalement avec le développement du projet Moskva-City, le futur centre d’affaires international de Moscou, à quelques minutes du centre-ville. Les constructions prennent place sur la berge Krasnopresnenskaya, sur d’anciens terrains industriels. L’ensemble du projet fait environ un kilomètre carré. Le but de Moskva-City est de créer une zone combinant affaires, divertissements, et espaces résidentiels, une première en Russie et dans toute l’Europe de l’Est. Ce quartier de 60 hectares a pour ambition de s’affirmer comme l’un des plus grands centres d’affaires au monde et entend rivaliser avec des quartiers tels que Battery Park (New York), Canary Warf (Londres) ou encore La Défense. Cependant la crise de 2007-2008 a freiné sa construction, et deux projets de plus hauts gratte-ciels d’Europe, voire du monde, ont été abandonnés.

Le plan de transport de Moskva-City inclue des voies de circulation routières, aériennes, mais aussi fluviales. Le quartier sera notamment relié aux aéroports de Sheremetevo, Vnukovo et Domodedovo, et comportera un héliport.

Krasnopresnenskaya comprend également le zoo de Moscou, la Maison Blanche et l’ambassade américaine. A proximité on trouve de nombreux restaurants, bars, cafés, boutiques et clubs.

Taganskaya

Les noms des rues et des ruelles du Mont Tagan rappellent ceux des villages d’artisans. Dans un quartier de potiers, il y avait trois églises généreusement décorées au grand dam des fabricants d’armures, des typographes, et des tisserands. Un superbe carrelage que l’on peut également admirer dans la région de Krutitskoye était fabriqué dans ce village.

Un nombre croissant d’entreprises se relocalisent dans ce quartier situé dans la zone orientale de la ville. C’est une destination nocturne de plus en plus populaire. La place Tagankaya ressemble à Las Vegas, pleine de néons, de casinos et de clubs.
Le célèbre gratte-ciel stalinien Kotelnicheskaya – qui se trouve à dix minutes à pied des deux stations de métro Taganskaya et Kitay-Gorod – se dresse fièrement à la jonction des rivières Moskova et Yauza. Des trois gratte-ciels résidentiels de la période stalinienne, Kotelniki, comme l’appellent les moscovites, est le plus spectaculaire. Il a fallu vingt ans pour le construire. Sa partie supérieure est haute de 26 étages et il comprend plus de 700 appartements. La plupart de ses fenêtres et de ses balcons offrent les plus belles vues de Moscou : les rivières, le Kremlin et la Cathédrale du Christ-Sauveur. Le bâtiment comprend garages, épicerie, salon de beauté et même un bureau de poste. « L’Illusion », cinéma unique à Moscou où l’on peut voir de rares classiques mondiaux et européens, se trouve au rez-de-chaussée du bâtiment. Des acteurs russes célèbres, et la légendaire ballerine Galina Ulanova y possédaient un appartement. Aujourd’hui, c’est une adresse populaire auprès de nombreux expatriés.

Il y a plusieurs théâtres dans le quartier, y compris deux antennes du légendaire théâtre Taganka, le Théâtre Dramatique Russe, le centre Vouisotsky et le Théâtre National de Marionnettes de Moscou.

De mai à septembre, il est possible de faire une ballade fluviale, croisière peu connue et agréable pour visiter la capitale en 1h30.

Le boulevard Tsvetnoy

“Tsvetnoy” signifie “fleur” en russe, allusion au marché floral à proximité. Ce boulevard est un secteur central de Moscou, où les boutiques et le centre d’affaires jouxtent des espaces verts. Situé entre la rue Sretenka et la rue Tverskaya, ce quartier est idéal pour trouver un logement bon marché.

Le boulevard est connu pour abriter le Cirque de Moscou, qui fut l’unique cirque entre 1926 et 1971 et qui reste le plus réputé.

La plupart des immeubles anciens le long de la rue Sretenka ont gardé leurs façades originales mais ont été complètement transformés en centres des affaires et en zones résidentielles. Les boulevards Petrovsky et Rozhdestvensky, avec leurs vieux arbres centenaires remarquablement bien préservés, offrent de superbes balades estivales.

Tverskaya-Kremlin

Au XIVe siècle, c’était la route qui reliait Moscou à Tver. Des palaces magnifiques et des hôtels particuliers y furent construits, avec le Kremlin à seulement cinq minutes de marche.

Le Kremlin, qui domine la rive gauche de la Moscova, est une véritable ville fortifiée, une cité interdite russe, avec ses 28 hectares de cathédrales et de palais. C’est également le haut lieu du tourisme moscovite, même s’il continue d’abriter les organes du pouvoir.

La rue Tverskaya est une large avenue centrale, pleine d’énergie, bordée de larges immeubles avec des boutiques, des clubs, des cafés et des restaurants divers et variés. Vous ne pouvez pas être plus central! Pour s’amuser et se faire plaisir, c’est le meilleur quartier. La rue Tverskya, c’est les “Champs Elysées” moscovite.

Pendant les fêtes nationales, la circulation sur Tverskaya est interdite, et les rues se transforment en un lieu de fête permanent. La place Pouchkine, haut lieu de rencontre, est l’une des plus majestueuses place de la ville. Elle est très appréciée des jeunes qui aiment s’y réunir pour des concerts de rock, par exemple. Les privilégiés qui ont des fenêtres donnant sur la rue peuvent profiter des festivités depuis leur balcon.

Le cinéma Pouchkinsky, l’un des meilleurs de Moscou, se situe également sur la place. A gauche du cinéma, dans la rue Malaya Dmitrovka, on accède à la très belle église de la Nativité et au très populaire théâtre Lenkom.

Zamoskvorechie

Zamoskvorechie est un vieux quartier de marchands moscovites. On peut traduire Zamoskvorechie en français par ‘Derrière la rivière Moscova’, ce qui décrit exactement où il est situé. Beaucoup d’espaces verts – et donc moins de circulation – enveloppent ce quartier dans un épais manteau de nature et de calme. Il y règne une atmosphère bien particulière, et c’est un vrai plaisir que de se promener dans les rues étroites et les patios.

Aujourd’hui, c’est un quartier ‘branché’ de Moscou, et également le siège social de nombreuses banques russes. On y trouve des quartiers résidentiels très intéressants. La zone autour de Zamoskvorechye a connu un développement immobilier très dynamique.

Sur la rive droite, ce quartier possède de belles églises et des demeures anciennes, comme le monastère Danilovsky, le premier monastère fortifié de Moscou, situé dans un lieu apaisant et ressourçant, pour bien s’oxygéner loin du centre.

Culturellement, ce quartier offre pas moins que l’un des plus grands musée du monde, la galerie Tretiatov, “le Louvre russe”, qui retrace toute l’histoire de l’Art russe et abrite la célèbre Trinité de Roublev; et la nouvelle galerie Tretiatov, située entre les deux rives dans un cadre spacieux et lumineux.

Kutuzovsky

L’avenue Kutuzovsky est l’artère principale qui part du centre ville. Elle est entourée de condominiums résidentiels imposants qui furent les logements de fonction de nombreux membres du politburo (les cadres du parti communiste). Aujourd’hui, les étages inférieurs de ces immeubles abritent des boutiques de mode internationales et de luxueux détaillants.

Le Parc de la Victoire, situé sur le Mont Poklonnaya, est l’un des meilleurs endroits pour admirer Moscou. Le parc honore la mémoire des millions de personnes tuées pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale ainsi que des survivants. L’Arc de Triomphe se dresse sur le coté oriental du parc, au milieu de l’avenue Kutuzovsky. Il fut d’abord construit dans la gare ferroviaire Belorussky en 1834 pour commémorer la victoire russe sur Napoléon.

La partie orientale de l’avenue, dans le district de Dorogomilovo, qui s’est développée entre 1938 et 1963 est une zone résidentielle haut-de-gamme, où réside l’élite. La partie occidentale du Parc Podeby est moins chère, avec des appartements construits dans les années 1950–1980, à l’exception notable de la luxueuse Tour Edelweiss, construite dans les années 2000.

L’avenue Leningrad

L’avenue Leningrad est l’une des principales avenues qui va vers le nord, en partant de la rue Tverskaya jusqu’à la route de l’aéroport Sheremetyevo. Depuis 2005, cette artère est en pleine transition : la Ville de Moscou finance un projet de 38 millions de dollars pour la transformer en une autoroute avec voies de desserte.

Dans les années 1920, les artistes et écrivains soviétiques reçurent en présent des maisons privées avec ateliers dans un village jouxtant l’avenue. A la fin des années 1940, d’imposants immeubles staliniens furent construits dans cette rue alors en pleine en expansion. Les appartements étaient offerts majoritairement à des vétérans, des scientifiques hors-pairs, et des musiciens.

Aujourd’hui, l’avenue abrite l’école Anglo-américaine, le palais Petrovsky, et avoisine les collines Pokrovsky et le complexe sportif Chaïka.

Le palais Petrovski de style néogothique se dresse sur l’avenue. Il fut construit entre 1776 et 1780 en l’honneur de la victoire de la Russie impériale sur l’Empire Ottoman.

L’avenue Leninsky

Depuis cette avenue on accède au quartier des “Collines aux Moineaux”, avec ses splendides vues panoramiques, et à proximité de l’Université d’Etat de Moscou et du Jardin Neskouchny. L’Université de Moscou occupe une place spéciale dans le cœur de l’élite intellectuelle: un esprit romanesque y règne. Cette ville dans la ville, créée par Mikhail Lomonosov en 1755, fut l’épicentre de la pensée libérale russe. L’université est un pôle éducatif d’excellence qui forme d’audacieux chercheurs. Elle est le point culminant sur les Collines aux Moineaux, et offre une vue imprenable sur Moscou.

Des festivals de musique ont régulièrement lieu dans le Jardin Neskouchny. Les amateurs de musique s’y rendent en famille ou entre amis.

La Perspective Léninsky voit également s’aligner de grands hôtels, des instituts culturels et scientifiques, tels que l’Académie des sciences de Russie, et des grands magasins.

L’Etang des Patriarches

Le quartier de l’Etang des Partriaches est idéalement situé: cinq stations de métro, dont quatre, sont accessibles à pied.

C’est également l’un des endroits les plus romantiques et mystérieux du vieux Moscou. De nombreux luxueux appartements refaits à neuf et de style occidental sont situés autour ou à proximité de l’étang et d’un superbe parc. Les plus privilégiés disposent d’un appartement avec vue sur l’étang. Le parc est vraiment adapté pour les enfants qui viennent y jouer, pour se promener avec son chien ou faire son jogging car il est parsemé d’allées qui invitent à la promenade. L’étang des Patriarches est donc un havre de paix au beau milieu de l’agglomération urbaine et en hiver, il se transforme en patinoire.

Commentaires