Russian cuisine

Pirogui and pirojki

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | News & Events, Russian cuisine

Pirogui et pirojki

It is a festive Russian dish (the word ” pirogui ” comes from the word ” pir ” – “feast”). Pirogui – are big stuffed brioche breads, and pirojki are smaller. In Russia a lady of the house worthy of the name knows how to prepare “pirojki”. Pirojki sell like hot cakes in Russia and in Ukraine and we can buy it wherever. Culturally, they are weaknesses, snacks, fast mouthfuls that we savour to calm small hungers, in particular when we do not have time to take a real meal. Russia without pirojki would not be any more completely itself. Continue reading

Sublime Borchtch!

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | News & Events, Russian cuisine

boatch

Purple, unique soup in colour and in taste, infinite in its demonstrations, ecumenical by its membership, it is served scorching with potatoes by the orthodoxes of Ukraine, and frozen with some crème fraiche, on hot days, by the Jewish grocers of New York. As long as you have the essential ingredient, the beet, no matter what you add to it, it is still borchtch. But this does not prevent from heated and virulent debates concerning the way of cooking it. Continue reading

Overview of the Slavic Cooking

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | News & Events, Russian cuisine

Cuisine slave

A table which collapses under the weight of a wide variety of dishes, this is the way we could represent the generosity of the Slavic countries! The Russian food aims to be at the same time the “ethnology” of food, a memory book, a recipes collection. Custine, Dumas, Gautier and others, in their time, had been looking with perplexity or enthusiasm, at this culinary art which they consider often very exotic, while today the word “blini” is part of the common vocabulary. Continue reading

Сuisine russe

Pirogui et pirojki

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | Toutes les Nouvelles, Сuisine russe

Pirogui et pirojki

C’est avant tout un plat de fête russe (“pirogui” vient du mot “pir” qui signifie “festin”). Les pirogui  sont les gros pains briochés farcis, alors que les pirojki sont  plus petits. En Russie toute maitresse de maison qui se respecte se doit de savoir préparer des “pirojki”. Les pirojki se vendent comme des petits pains en Russie et en Ukraine et on peut en acheter n’importe où. Depuis toujours, ce sont les gourmandises, les en-cas, les bouchées rapides qu’on déguste pour calmer les petites faims, en particulier lorsqu’on n’a pas le temps de prendre un vrai repas. La Russie sans pirojki ne serait plus tout à fait la Russie. Continuer la lecture

Sublime borchtch !

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | Toutes les Nouvelles, Сuisine russe

BoatchSoupe pourpre, unique par sa couleur et sa saveur, infinie dans ses expressions, œcuménique de par son appartenance. Les orthodoxes d’Ukraine la servent brûlante avec des pommes de terre, tandis que les épiciers juifs de New York la servent glacée avec de la crème fraîche, les jours de canicule. Tant que vous n’oubliez pas l’ingrédient essentiel, à savoir la betterave, peu importe ce que vous y ajoutez, c’est toujours du borchtch. Mais cela n’empêche pas de passionnés et virulents débats concernant la façon de le cuisiner. Continuer la lecture

Tour d’horizon de la Cuisine Slave

Posted on: 2013/12/02 | Toutes les Nouvelles, Сuisine russe

Cuisine slave Une table qui croule sous le poids des mets les plus variés, voilà comment on pourrait décrire la générosité de la cuisine slave! A travers la cuisine russe, on peut faire une étude ethnologique de cette nourriture, un album de souvenirs, un recueil de recettes. Ils sont nombreux, comme Dumas ou Gautier en leur temps, à s’être penchés  avec perplexité ou enthousiasme, sur cet art culinaire qui leur a souvent semblé plutôt exotique, alors qu’aujourd’hui les blinis, bortsh et autres spécialités font partie du vocabulaire courant. Continuer la lecture